Spring 2017

Green, York join Hall of Fame

Don W. Green (BS ’55) and Douglas W. York (BS ’83) were inducted into the College of Engineering and Natural Sciences Hall of Fame on April 20 at Gilcrease Museum.

Green is the Emeritus Distinguished Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at the University of Kansas. He earned a petroleum engineering undergraduate degree from TU and began his career at Continental Oil Co. before joining the KU faculty in 1964. Green has received many teaching awards and is a past Society of Petroleum Engineers Distinguished Lecturer, an American Institute of Chemical Engineers Fellow and a member of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers.

York is a founder and managing director of Sequel Energy Group LLC and has served in many managerial and executive roles during his tenure in the exploration and production sector. He spent 10 years at St. Mary Land and Exploration Co. York is a past regional engineer for Meridian Oil Co. and began his career at ARCO Oil and Gas Co. He holds a bachelor’s degree in petroleum engineering from TU and previously served on the TU Petroleum Engineering Advisory Board. York currently serves on the board of KLR Energy Acquisition Corp. and the development board of Colorado UpLift.

ENS hosts regional spring student competitions, conferences

Several departments hosted competitions and conferences this spring, welcoming to campus regional university and high school students.

Oklahoma High-Performance Supercomputing Competition: TU hosted more than 40 students from local high schools, community colleges, technical schools and universities as they learned about high-performance computing.

AIChE Mid-America Student Regional Conference: More than 200 students attended the 2017 American Institute of Chemical Engineers Regional Conference hosted by the Russell School of Chemical Engineering. The event included a Chem-E Car competition, campus tours, panels featuring industry professionals, recruitment fair and research contest.

Southwest Regional CCDC: The Tandy School of Computer Science hosted the Southwest Regional Collegiate Cyber Defense Competition. Student teams visited Tulsa to protect computer networks against the same type of real-world cyber threats that infiltrate major retailers, corporations, social networks and financial institutions.

Mustafa Onur returns to TU as petroleum engineering chairman

The McDougall School of Petroleum Engineering welcomed a new chairman. Mustafa Onur (MS ’85, PhD ’89) is a native of Turkey who attended The University of Tulsa under sponsorship from the Minister of Turkish Higher Education. Following his doctorate from TU, Onur taught at Istanbul Technical University where he served as department chairman of petroleum and natural gas engineering and vice department chairman of petroleum and natural gas engineering.

“I like the academic environment, teaching and conducting research,” Onur said. “I want to maintain TU’s position as one of the best petroleum engineering schools in the world and help it reach an even higher ranking.”

Sarah and John Graves invest in cybersecurity

Sarah and John (BS ’74) Graves are long-time supporters of TU. In 2015, they made a generous commitment to support several multidisciplinary initiatives that develop cybersecurity professionals, drive innovation and inspire research. Two years later, their donation is generating substantial growth and momentum in TU’s Tandy School of Computer Science. The couple’s personal mission to advance TU’s cybersecurity opportunities has created the following endowments and initiatives: the CyberSecurity Fellowship, the TU Cyber Defense Center (TU CDC), the Multidisciplinary Security Initiative, the Cybersecurity Research Project Enhancement Fund, the Cyber Network/Technology Lab Support and Infrastructure Enhancement Fund, the Cybersecurity Research Travel Award and the Cybersecurity Distinguished Lecture Series.